Skip to main content

Transportation Commission

The Transportation Commission is a forum for transportation planning and project development, that advocates for and promotes the advancement of a safe, efficient, and multi-modal transportation network relating to roads, transit corridors, bike lanes, sidewalks, pathways, and lighting. The Commission consists of nine (9) voting members and six (6) nonvoting ex-officio members serving a term of 3 years each. Commission membership is comprised of: four (4) Meridian citizens residing within City limits, one position of which may be designated to represent youth; three (3) Meridian business owners or employees of a business in Meridian; and two (2) individuals with expertise and/or education in a transportation-related field. The four (4) Meridian citizens should, if possible, represent different geographic areas of Meridian. The youth commission member may be, at the time of appointment, under eighteen (18) years of age. The six (6) nonvoting ex-officio members shall be made up of representatives from the Meridian City Council, ACHD, ITD, COMPASS, VRT, and/or West Ada School District staff. Meetings are held at 3:30 pm on the first Monday of each month with the exception of September due to Labor Day. Meetings are held in the City Council Chambers at Meridian City Hall and on Zoom.

Current Members

Name Seat Appointment Expires
David Ballard 1 May 31, 2026
Walter Steed 2 May 31, 2026
Zach Shoemaker 3 May 31, 2026
Hoyoon Song (Youth) 4 September 30, 2024
Stephen Lewis 5 May 31, 2024
Tracy Hopkins 6 May 31, 2024
Jared Smith 7 May 31, 2024
Tom LeClaire 8 May 31, 2025
Ryan Lancaster 9 May 31, 2025

© Copyright 2024, Meridian, Idaho. All rights reserved. Privacy Statement Terms of Use Accessibility